Board of Directors and Business Info

The Board of Directors for the United States Merchant Marine Veterans of WWII (USMMVWWII) hold their public business meetings on the second Saturday of every month in the Officer’s Mess aboard the Lane Victory beginning at 9:00am until approximately 10:30am. This meeting is where ship and corporate business is discussed and scheduled guests are allowed to address the board with concerns, issues, and interests. This meeting is open only to USMMVWWII members and invited guest.


At 10:30am the meeting is moved to the general crew meeting (also open only to USMMVWWII members) where further business is conducted and the crew is allowed to vote on issues with a crew quorum present.


Any persons interested in addressing the board or addressing the crew may request being placed on the agenda by writing to or While the meetings are open, they are limited on time, consequently only scheduled speakers are recognized.


Our 2018-2019 Board of Directors:


David Jones – President
David Mitchell– Vice President
Ron Phelps – Treasurer
Cheryl Silkotch – Secretary
Taron Lamkin – Director
Bob Brennan – Director
Chris “Frenchy” Marmaud  – Director
Don Knight – Advisor to the Board


Our Mission Statement:


The mission of the United States Merchant Marine Veterans of WWII, by restoring, maintaining, and operating the S.S. Lane Victory, is to provide a living historical monument dedicated to the recognition of contributions and achievements made by Merchant Mariners in the protecting of this country and maintaining supply lines during times of war.


The S.S. Lane Victory is manned by volunteers, and in addition to its historical significance, provides a training site for fire, police, port security and military personnel, as well as a center of education for maritime students, schools, scout groups and the public in general.


Approved by the Board of Directors, April 13th 2013



Our Adminstrative Guidelines:

Administrative Guidelines / Approved November of 2016

Ship Department Heads:

Deck Department – Bob Brennan
Engineering – Jim Gillen (Chief Engineer)
Galley/Stewards – John Saville (Chief Steward)
Armed Guard – Charley Savona (GM/C USN retired)
Events/Movie Coordinator – Christopher Scott
Liaison Korean Community – Chester Park
Office Manager – Taron Lamkin
Gift Shop – Cheryl Silkotch
Museum Staff – Gilbert Cuevas
Legal Affairs – Mark L. Van Buskirk (Attorney at Law)
Volunteer Coordinator – Taron Lamkin
Social Media Manager  – Taron Lamkin
Security  – David Jones